The One Who Is Deaf and Dumb – A Nostalgia

There are some incidents from my past which affected me a lot and this is one such incident. When i used to be in Thiruvottiyur I used to travel to my office by MTC bus which was in Theynampet. As the buses are fully loaded most of the time most days i used to go by standing all the way, But that day i was quiet lucky to get a seat that too window seat.As usual I opened a book (I don’t remember what book it was)ย start reading and plugged my noise isolation headphones in to ears and start listening to music.

I got myself completely immersed into the book and music. After some time i felt some one next to me was calling me, When i turned it was a small school boy with a small bag on his lap, I also noticed a hearing aid on his ears. So after reading the title if you guess he is the deaf then you are wrong.

He gave me a broad smile filled with cuteness and innocence, then he asked me “Couldn’t you hear me in spite of wearing the hearing aid, I was calling you 2-3 times”. I was confused for a while and at that moment i realized that he was mentioning my headphones and I am the one who is DEAF. He didn’t stop there, he continued “Yours looks better than mine”. I didn’t know what to reply him, I kept silent like a DUMB.ย After very few minutes his stopping came, He stood up and waved me a big bye bye. I didn’t know whether to smile for his innocence or feel for his challenge, I waved him back and he left the bus.

When ever i want to complain about the quality of my headphones, he is the first one to come to ย my mind. When ever i want to complain about anything in my life, he and his broad smile comes to my mind. Lets all better stop complaining about our life and face it with what we have. Take Care ๐Ÿ™‚

9 thoughts on “The One Who Is Deaf and Dumb – A Nostalgia

    1. gokoulane Post author

      Ha Ha thanks for the encouragement mama ๐Ÿ™‚ , But i am sure you will read if i write one ๐Ÿ˜› , thats what friends are for ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  1. sushmitha06

    A very touching note. We got to learn a lot from all people around us. Every individual teaches something to us. Many are there who are facing challenges in everyday life. These alarming incidents teach us to face every challenge in life. Overall a nice post ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    1. gokoulane Post author

      Thanks sushmitha , Yeah you are right ๐Ÿ™‚ we have lots to learn and get inspired by people around us. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  2. Niki

    wowww ๐Ÿ™‚ such a nice story ๐Ÿ™‚ im happy its a true story and ur telling truly and just nt a story.

    I would say this is best of all ur blogs ๐Ÿ™‚ VERY VERY NICE ๐Ÿ™‚ im falling for this touching story ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    1. gokoulane Post author

      Thanks nik, Your comments are encouraging ๐Ÿ™‚ and i fell already for this one ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  3. Mr.Lunatic

    Am happy that you weren’t deaf or dumb in grasping the imprint that the incident laid on you.
    Am happy that you interpreted the lesson so well. Keep going bro.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

