One Who Widened His Ears – A Note On World Music Day

Today (21-06-2013) is World Music Day, Though it was first started to celebrate in France in 1982 to celebrate music and musicians later it got spread all over the word. Main goal of this day is to promote all genres of music  and make it accessible to all. So wish all music lovers a Happy World Music Day and lets thank the musicians who give us great pieces of music .

Clicked By Me - Happy World Music Day

Clicked By Me – Happy World Music Day

I fall in the category most fall in, The category who doesn’t know anything about music but love, listen and rejoice in it for ever. Music is some thing which accompanied me the most when I felt lonely, Its some thing which gave energy when I was down. It put me to sleep some times, It woke me up from sleep some times. It helped me to concentrate, and It distracted me too. It induced lots of love and other feelings in me. Listening to it some time created wounds and made it worse, some times it heals wounds or at least helped me forget the pain. It also made me to annoy people next to me, one can spot me singing worse with wrong lyrics, tapping the table with wrong beats and headphones plugged tight to my ears.

“For me music is like an unspoken language, It’s the sound of nature, If you listen carefully there is music in every thing. There is only one way to understand and enjoy music, You just have to keep listening, There is so much to hear.”

Those above awesome words are from one of my favorite  World Space Radio Add featuring A.R.Rahman sir, It also make me to wonder whether is there anything like good and bad music or it’s all about our likes and taste.I am a big A.R.Rahman fan since my childhood, ever since I started listening to Roja and Uyirae non stop repeat in the audio cassette player we had.

Until couple of years ago the only music i listen to is film music and mostly rahman, My ears were so narrow when it comes to music. Later i got exposed to some Contemporary Indian Music bands and some Independent Musicians and started listening to them. I really liked their music, their music sounded very fresh to me and was quiet different from what i used to hear. Each played different genres and some awesomely fuse Indian traditional and folk music with international sounds, Listening to them also refined my taste towards listening music. The growth of Social Media really helped those Bands and Independent Musicians to reach  more audiences than the past. But i could still see lack of support for them, might be because they are not much exposed by media or most of our ears are still narrow to film music alone. Lets widen our ears and welcome their music too, you might feel their music surpasses your ears and reach your hears. Lets also support and encourage the spirit of Independent Music and Independent Musicians.

In continuation to this post i will also write more posts on my favorite bands and musicians in the near future under the category Contemporary Indian Music. “Without music, life would be a mistake” so keep listening, Be Happy 🙂

4 thoughts on “One Who Widened His Ears – A Note On World Music Day

  1. gopal491

    There are lot of indie musicians are growing and basically lets support Indian bands by purchasing original CDs. that will encourage them to establish themselves. as far as my feeble knowledge in concerned Anurag Kashyap and Bejoy nambiar and few are the only people who gives music to the Indian rock bands. Hope if they too bring some of the bands to the mainstream then we can expect more growth in quality music.

    Reply
  2. gokoulane Post author

    @gopal : yes you are right bro 🙂 but most don’t know even existence of these bands. As you said i wish they come to main stream music 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Poorva Formerly Yodhakaa – Contemporary Indian Music Band | Gokoulane Ravi

Leave a Reply

