The one who went cycling after a long time

It has been quite a long time since I cycled long distances. I used to cycle a lot during my school days and early college days, sometimes I would even cycle from my home at Thiruvottiyur to Besant Nagar or to Thiruvanmiyur or to my college in Madhuravoyal etc., with ease. I completely stopped cycling since I got my bike and also gave away my cycle as I wasn’t using it. All of sudden some days before I got an urge to start cycling again after seeing some people cycling in my neighborhood. As I don’t have cycle on my own I planned to borrowed cycle from my neighbor’s son, being such a nice neighbor they also agreed to lend the cycle to me. I don’t want to disturb them early in the morning for cycle key, so I got key from them yesterday night itself and also checked the tire pressure and kept it ready for the ride the next day.

As planned I woke up early in the morning today (03.11.2013) and started around 6 AM from my home. Initially I felt difficult because of low saddle height which was causing pain and my eyes were constantly searching for any cycle shop or mechanic shop to fix it. As its early in the morning and its Sunday I couldn’t find any open, Atlast around my 7th km I found a car service center open with just a security outside. When I asked him for help, he pointed me towards the tool box, I took the required spanner and increased the seat height to fix the problem and started to pedal forward after thanking the security for his timely help. My initial plan was to do total of 20 kms i.e., to reach Sholinganallur and back home. As I didn’t feel any pain or much tiredness in my body when I reached Sholinganallur, the climate was cool, cloudy and so good to cycle I decided to cycle for some more kms in ECR.

I use Endomondo sports tracker app on my mobile usually to track my runs and I used the same to track today’s cycling too. It has got an awesome feature named “Peptalk”, It enables your friends to track you live during your workouts. Your friends can send you a text message in English which will be converted into speech and played on your mobile phone through headphones or speakers.

Ceeni's Peptalk

Ceeni’s Peptalk

I am very thankful my friend Sreenivasan (we call him ceeni) who tracked me live and sent me those above Peptalks via Endomondo while I was cycling which motivated me to a great extent and made me cycle 27 kms to Kovalam beach. It was a great climate at the beach, I relaxed and enjoyed walking slowly along the shores for some time. I saw those clouds moving out to pave the way for the sun to shine, So I decided to ride back home before the sun could hit hard at me.

I started riding slow as I start feeling pain in my legs and thighs. After cycling for a while at my 33rd km I stopped for a coffee at Sangeetha Restaurant near Dakshinachitra  I relaxed for a  while slowly sipping down the hot coffee which I ordered and let the pain in my legs to subside. After few mins more crowd started arriving at the restaurant, I didn’t feel comfortable occupying 4 seater table when some were standing and their eyes are searching for an empty table in the crowded restaurant, So I left the place and started riding back home. ECR isn’t a flat road as I thought, It got ups and downs which made my ride more difficult but I decided to ride slow and in a study phase. Some cyclists who were cycling in the opposite direction showed me thumbs up which motivated and gave me an extra boost.

Speed and Altitude

Speed and Altitude Graph

I was completely exhausted and felt lots of pain when I reached back Sholinganallur toll booth near HCL and 10 more kms to home. I felt breezes, heat and even my pains were against me but bit of hope, confidence and good music is what made me keep going. I kept on motivating myself and decided not to give up or stop anywhere until I reach my home. I shouted loud “Yaayyyy” out of joy on the way when the sports tracker app informed me that I had completed 50 kms, With no clue people on the road stared at me and I happily smiled back at them. At last I reached home after completing the last 3.4 kms with lots of difficulties. My legs were trembling out of pain, I even felt difficult to climb steps. But on the other side I felt so happy, I felt content that I did something out of my comfort zone.

RouteMap

Route Map

I took a quick bath to refresh myself and had an awesome, heavenly mom made Pongal, Sambar and Vada to regain all the calories (1476 KCal) which I had burnt. I have planned to get myself a cycle and do more cycling. You can also visit the whole workout details by visiting the following link. http://www.endomondo.com/workouts/265031470/10904208

6 thoughts on “The one who went cycling after a long time

Leave a Reply

