Meeting Dr.Vishwas Gaitonde

First let me tell what I know about Dr.Vishwas R Gaitonde, He is a doctor and medical writer based on California, He is also author of the books “Treatment Guidelines : HIV Disease In India” and “A Thief in the Night ; Understanding AIDS”. He reads and writes a lot, you can find his articles published in a literary journal HERE

We get to know each other through twitter and my blog. He is one of the few avid readers of my blog and he constantly share his views on my blog posts. Then and there we used to exchange tweets and mails. In one such mail, he said he will be visiting Chennai from mid Jan to mid Feb and we decided to meet when he is here. On Thursday (06.02.2014) evening i got a call, and the person on the other end introduced himself “Hi, I am Vishwas, Your twitter friend”, yes its him. We spoke for a while over the phone and planned to meet the next day eve in Connemara Public Library. I was really happy that he called.

On Friday (07.02.2014) I reached Connemara Library unusually late by 15 mins, He was there on time and I saw him patiently waiting for me. Once again we introduced ourselves and decided to reach a nearby cafe so that we can comfortably sit down and talk. We went to the Cafe Coffee Day in Alsa Mall opposite to the library and ordered ourselves coffee.

WP_20140207_002

Me with Dr.Vishwas R Gaitonde

The conversation over the coffee turned out to be really good. We spoke about our professions, spoke about Chennai, spoke about food, etc. I felt elated when he quoted things from my blog then and there. He is a nice and silent person who talks few words unlike me who is a chatter box, I was rambling on and he patiently listened to all of them. He also mentioned that what I speak is interesting, It made me feel astonished, I don’t  remember when is the last time I heard those words. When we are about to part he took something from his bag and gave me saying “I think you will like it”, I was surprised and really loved it. what he gifted to me was a big bar of Belgian Dark Chocolate and a pack of Tootsie candies, cant ask for more.

Dark Belgian Chocolate and Tootsie Candies

Dark Belgian Chocolate and Tootsie Candies

I parted by saying lots of thanks for taking pain to meet me.  It was a great pleasure meeting him and the least thing I could do is to dedicate this blog post to him. Hoping to meet him some time soon.

4 thoughts on “Meeting Dr.Vishwas Gaitonde

    1. gokoulane Post author

      Thanks lot Dr, Sure will continue, got to meet many really nice people cos of my blog and i am happy for that 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

