Bhajji Shop To Buckingham Palace – My Inspiration

This blog post is about a person who inspired me and still continues to inspire me.

Earlier this month, I called to wish him on his birthday . I found no difference in the way he speaks to me, he sounded the same as ever. After the call got over, as usual, I got into nostalgia mode and started recalling those inspiring memories about him.

Before writing why he is such an inspiration to me, I will better narrate how I got to know him first ( #ItsFlashBackTime #MosquitoCoilSlowRotationEffect ). It was my mid school times and we used to reside in a Housing Board Colony at Tiruvottiyur back then. I never liked living there, the place was more like a slum, always noisy and stinking. My mom wouldn’t even allow me to go out and play, cos she was scared that I would get spoiled being with those kids. But we had no other go, some unfavourable circumstances made us stay there for years. There used to be a small Bhajji shop on a cart at the entrance of the colony. One fine day, returning back from my school, I stopped by that shop to get some Bhaji. To my surprise, I found one of my favourite computer magazine stacked among few other papers. As it seemed to be a latest issue, So I requested the shopkeeper to give it to me rather than using it for packing. He replied that, It’s his son who read them and it’s not for packing. Then I heard a voice from behind which said “If you want, you can take, read it and return back”, I turned back and saw him talking while helping his dad. That’s how I met him for the first time.

As far as I know him, He studied in a government school in Thiruvottiyur. Everyday after the school gets over, he comes and helps his dad running the shop and studies even if he gets a few minutes gap. You can see him burning his midnight lamp frequently, At times my mom used to point at his light up house though our window at night and say “that anna must be reading”. He even used to convert that cart into a juice shop and run it during his summer holidays standing in the hot sun for a long time. I remember him offering me juices while I go out to roam in my cycle or go to computer classes, at times he even refused to take money from me. We even used to exchange books and discuss about technology.

After completing his schoolings with good marks, he secured a Computer Science Engineering seat in Central Polytechnic College. Post successfully completing his diploma, he started working in a small company as a developer and did a great job there. Now he works for TCS and was recently sent to London by his company. Think “Buckingham Palace” in the title make sense now. He married the love of his life Mrs Devisri and now they both happily live with their son Sanjiv. He also involves himself in  a few pet projects.

Why he is such an inspiration to me ?
Because is such a passionate and hard working person ever since I know him. He never gave reasons why he couldn’t do things, but he did all he could do to be whom he is now. His enthusiasm and thirst to knowledge is quite unquenchable. More than everything as I mentioned above, he is same, he is grounded, down to earth and such a sweet person to talk with. I tell his story to many who gives silly reasons why they couldn’t do things, even to me when I needed motivation.

Opps I haven’t mentioned his name yet, He is MURUGAN Anna.

Murugan Anna, Mrs Devisir and Sanjiv, probably near buckingham palace.

Murugan Anna, Mrs Devisri and Sanjiv – probably shot near Buckingham Palace.

Anna I know you would be definitely reading this (I will make you read this). You are such an inspiration to me and All the best for your future endeavours.

Appendix (For International Readers 😛 )

  1. Bhajji – Bhajji or bhaji is a spicy Indian snack similar to pakora or potato fritters, with several variants
  2. Anna – Brother in Tamizh.
9 thoughts on “Bhajji Shop To Buckingham Palace – My Inspiration

  1. Vishwas

    Thank you for writing about this. People need to hear stories like these, they really do. They need to think twice before making excuses.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Zhopout founder's interview at tamil.yourstory.com - Zhopout

Leave a Reply

