A Lonely Walk To Remember – Theosophical Society, Chennai

It was a very busy week for me, was tied up to my laptop most of the time writing codes and fixing unexpected bugs. Phew.. Luckily issues got subsided by friday which paved way for a much needed and a relaxing weekend. After getting bored of doing nothing in the morning, I decided to hangout with friends in the afternoon (not the google hangout). One friend suggested Theosophical Society in Adayar, as I haven’t been there before, I agreed to the plan. As usual I reached there on time, but unfortunately (fortunately) my friends couldn’t make it cos of last minute hiccups. So I have to spend the rest of my time there alone.

This Theosophical Society campus in Adyar is its international headquarters. You can know more about the Theosophical Society from its Official Website  & Wikipedia . It’s open  for  visitors only from Monday to Saturday  (Morning: 9:30am-12:30pm; Afternoon: 2:30pm-5:30pm) and closed on Sunday and on public holidays.

At 2.45pm I made an entry in the visitors register and the security guard informed me to return back by 4pm. The place is very green, all i could see are trees and old buildings then and there. It’s really a silent place and apt to take a calm walk. Even the people are sparse there, I could see a few taking the walk and very few sitting on benches reading book. I walked around enjoying the nature and clicking few pics in my mobile. I was stopped by a security guard and warned not to go beyond as walking further would lead to woods which got dangerous insects and snakes, must be a forbidden forest. The security guard’s name is Mr Durai, he also enlightened me about the famous Adyar banyan  tree (adayar aala maram) which is believed to be 450 years old. Its central trunk was uprooted by a cyclone in 1989, but it’s aerial roots span around 60,000 sq ft. He also pointed me to the direction where I could find few interesting things. As I advanced I found a small buddhist temple with a beautiful pond in front of it. What I saw next really shocked me, It’s couple of tamarind trees filled with thousands of large fruit bats hanging upside down. It’s time said my watch. I wish I could be there for some more time, but security guard didn’t wish the same, So have to return signing back the visitors register. And the heart felt light and delight when I walked out of those gates.

Following are few pics which I clicked during the walk.

Its definitely A Lovely And A Lonely Walk To Remember.

2 thoughts on “A Lonely Walk To Remember – Theosophical Society, Chennai

  1. sushmitha06

    Awesome pics 🙂 You know what,. Im trying to visit here from my school days, but still I haven’t got a chance. But definitely will visit at least once there within this year 🙂 Thanks for sharing the pics 🙂 Hope you would have enjoyed the nature’s company well 🙂 If you have went in the morning you would have been lucky to hear n number of bird’s chirps 🙂

    Reply
  2. Vishwas

    Sometimes you enjoy a place like this when you are all by yourself, in the bliss of solitude. But it would also be good to come in the company of a like-minded person who can appreciate these surroundings.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

