The One Who Ignored

Incident 1:
It was a usual Monday at work and definitely not an exciting day. I usually have lunch with a group of friends and this day is no different and usual conversations continued.

Me: I went to this Wild Tribe Ranch in ECR last Friday eve and it was awesome.
Friend: What’s that?
Me: It’s an adventure park, you must try it.
Friend: How much did it cost you?
Me: I didn’t pay, they had their pre-inaugural event that day and I was invited.
Friend: How come they invited you?
Me: I am part of this Chennai Bloggers Club, and such establishments collaborate with them for brand promotion.
Friend: Is there a shortage of bloggers in Chennai?
Me: No, There are plenty. (Innocently)

It might have taken me some time to understand his mockery. But, at the same time I was wondering how many posts of mine he might have read, probably none.


Incident 2:
My office was sponsoring its employees to run in Chennai Marathon.

Friend1: Last time you were volunteering na so, this time, you better sign up at least for a 10Km run.
Me: I think I’ll give it a try.
Colleague: You!! Run? You look like a potato, and you would probably end up rolling all the way instead of running. (Laughing heavily)

This was probably because I was this fat, stout looking guy back then and he, a slim one. But now, I am pretty much the same fat, stout looking guy who can run and cycle a little longer than before.


All my life I had people around me who would look down upon me. Maybe it’s my looks or my attitude or their natural tendency or whatever, I am still clueless about it. At times, it’s from people close to me making it difficult for me to act indifferent. My greatest struggle is bypassing all those negativity that makes me feel inferior. Since my childhood, I had so many people around me telling me why I won’t and can’t do certain things. I know it’s the same case in most of our lives.

The only way for me to overcome struggle is to simply ignore them, if not the person, at least, their words. Nowadays, my weapon against them is my smile, my “good, thank you, now go and mind your own business” smile. They say “Ignorance is bliss”, but in my case “Ignoring is bliss”. Being optimistic has made a significant change in my life. I learnt to put these silly things behind me and concentrate on the things I like to do. I learnt to get inspired and motivated from even the tiniest of things. Be it a second faster than my previous run or a bot following my blog, those tiny things are motivating enough for me to cruise ahead. I have also developed a kind of aggressiveness within, not the fierce one like a shark, but like a duck. Yes, duck it is. I know it’s not a pretty animal to compare oneself with. A duck might look calm outside, gliding across the water, but, beneath the water, it relentlessly paddles its feet. That’s the kind of aggressiveness I am talking about.

I feel happy when someone comes up to me and tells me that they have started running or blogging inspired by me or something I had said. It feels like an achievement. Nothing adds more positivity than surrounding yourself with positive people. Thankfully, there is another kind of people in my life too, the ones who stand by me, help me through my tough times and support me. I am grateful to all those wonderful souls in my life.

My smiles keep the negativity miles away. I just want to be this happy soul.


 This entry is part of ‘I Struggled but Overcame’ contest organized by Chennai Bloggers Club(CBC).

And here is the link to the trailer of the book which contains our very own impressions of the CHENNAI FLOODS titled ” AFTER THE FLOODS

2 thoughts on “The One Who Ignored

  1. Destination Infinity

    The next stage is to develop some empathy. When someone is trying to demean you for no reason, it’s not because they hate you, but probably because they are going through some difficult times themselves. They are trying to reduce their pain by being rude to others.

    Destination Infinity

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Picks of the week 26/3/2016 – 01/4/2016 – The Chennai Bloggers Club

Leave a Reply

